Staining Wooden Beads with Paint

Staining Wooden Beads with Paint

I would love to tell you why I’m staining these beads, but it’s a surprise for a later craft! They were so fun to make though and easy, so I really wanted to share. I love the small amount of tools you need as well. Even if you add a clear coat to them, it is still easy. I really loved the gold ones, but I think it would be neat to try all kinds of other colors or even mix colors!

This is how I did it!

Staining Wooden Beads with Paint

Tools and Supplies:

  • wooden beads
  • plastic cups
  • water
  • paint
  • paint brushes/stirring tools
  • spoon
  • paper towels/old rag
  • somewhere to dry beads (cake pop holder, cooling rack, etc.)

Instructions:

1. Put paints in cups. Put a little paint in each cup, one color per cup. I used gold, blue, purple, and pink paint. I didn’t measure the  paint, but if I were to guess I would say I used around 1 tablespoon of paint per cup.

 

2. Add water to each cup and stir. The more water you add, the weaker the color will be. This will make it unlikely that you will get vibrant colors on your beads. Once again, I didn’t measure the water, so I’d say I used around 2 1/2 to 3 tablespoons of water per cup. Stir the water and paint mixture completely. I used a paint brush to stir. Tip: The size of your cup will affect the how easy it is to stain the beads. I used rather narrow cups, so if yours are wider you will need to add more paint and water. You need the paint mixture to be deep enough to cover most of your bead.

paint_water_mix

3. Add one bead per cup and let sit until you have reached the desired color. Okay, so this is fun!!! It’s just like dying Easter eggs! Woohoo!! Just put in one bead at a time in each cup, unless you are using much smaller beads in which case you can add more. Similar to dying Easter eggs, the longer you let the beads sit in the paint mixture the more vibrant your color will be. I did it both ways on a few beads to show you the difference. There’s no particular time to let the beads sit in the paint mixture. You just need to check on them every so often to see if they are the color you want. I probably let the beads soak for around 5-7 minutes for the more vibrant beads. Tip: I did not have enough of the paint mixture in my cup to completely cover the beads, so I stirred my bead around every couple of minutes. I just thought it best to conserve my paint and this wasn’t a big deal.

Bead_soak

 

pink_color_differences

4. Remove each bead with a spoon to a drying area. I used a regular spoon but a plastic spoon is fine. I used one spoon and just wiped it off each time before removing a bead from a different cup. I also used an old tray I had to allow my beads to dry. The tray had raised areas that the beads sat on easily, and it worked fine. It would be even better to use an old cooling rack or a cake pop holder if your beads are large. You just need them to dry on something that will allow the excess stain to drip off. Allow the beads to dry completely. Tip: You may want to add a clear coat to protect the paint if you are using the beads for jewelry or anything that will be handled a lot, and you could even use a spray finish to add shine!

stained_beads_drying

That’s it!

Leave a Reply

